Adulting, best life, best self, Black women, church, comfort zone, faith, Friends, god, growth, inner circle, life, love, mental health, relationship, sister, spiritual, supportive, Uncategorized

A Necessary Push

This post is dedicated to someone who has grown so close to me in the last few months. I feel like I’ve known her all my life and you can’t tell me NOTHING about this girl. She is truly, my sister from another mister!

Sooooo,

I am a creature of habit; same way home daily, same gas stations, same food order, I guess boring or safe is the right word. (Maybe for my safety, I need to change it up 🥴)

Recently, I’ve been trying to do things a little different, just subtle changes; too much too fast and I will shut down on life! This is not to sound pompous or anything, but people really do like being around me, they say I’m funny, but I am merely just a very candid, warped sense of humor kind of girl. But hey, I will take the compliment.

With that being said, I have a very hard time getting out of my comfort zone. Typically, once my mind is made up, it’s made up (of course certain situations require certain accommodations). I do not like to come out of my turtle shell. It is bad, like MJ bad. You cannot call me at noon and want to go to lunch at 2 or 3 in the afternoon. NERP! Too soon. I have to be able to go to the Kubler-Ross’s stages of death and dying. I know that is so dramatic, but it’s necessary for me! If I can’t go through the stages, I literally am filled with anxiety and while I may smile and “enjoy” myself, once it’s all said and done, I’m beyond exasperated. I am almost weak and upset. I know cousin, I’m extra, but so are you!

With all that being said, it’s abundantly clear that going out/leaving my house is a task of magnificent proportions. I am a work, church, grocery store and home kind of girl; of course, I do have my sociable moments, but I have to genuinely, in my heart want to do it. Those moments are the best! I’m not lonely or anything, I just genuinely like being in my house, by myself. It goes without saying, I’m very single and have not the first piece of a child.

Last Sunday, I got out of my comfort zone! Yay me! Sundays, which for me consists of: church, maybe I’ll check on my grandparents and it’s right back in the house. My friends know they have a better chance of meeting Jesus than seeing me on a Sunday and I’m okay with that 🙃. When church was over, my sister from another mister said something about brunch and instantly I had a little jolt to my system, needless to say, she knows I’m a homebody and was not about to let me off the hook. Then I figured, I look cute in my dress and it’s a blessing to be thought about. Moreover, sis is a BAWSE and a true businesswoman AKA someone I look up to- I’m always learning something.

*Sidebar: 🗣🗣 Sistas, don’t be afraid to give your fellow sis the credit she deserves or big her up, even if she already knows her shit is flawless. Cheer for someone, as you know you’d want someone to cheer for you!

Believe it or not, we were together all day! That’s not much to anyone, but to me, that’s major, especially for a Sunday. Honeyyyyy!

Shoutout to Insecure!

We didn’t do anything groundbreaking. We went to Hibachi, talked, laughed and really enjoyed ourselves. Crazy thing, her boyfriend was there and he is a whole man of God, who uknowingly ministered to my whole life! No, cousin, I was not 3rd wheeling it, if they didn’t use terms of affection, you’d swear we were all platonic friends; but I am extra, so I had a great time making suggestive innuendos 😏😜. They are literally an ideal couple! *Jesus, hear my cry🙌* I learned so much from hanging out with them. It really wasn’t nothing but God, cousin.

I said all that to say this:

I was lovingly pushed out of comfort zone. It allowed me the opportunity to discover something else about me; a push from the right person can be a blessing to my life. Even my Mundane Monday was great, which I attribute to the joy that my sister’s necessary push gave me. My hope, for you cousin, is that you align yourself with the right people, genuine people, people who you have a real life connection with. This is the first push of many; sis managed to push me into Ministry this week, while I was petrified, she was right there smiling and cheering me on! THAT is how I know that God gave me just what I needed with her. If someone is pushing you, make sure they are right there supporting you, celebrating and praying for you. If they’ve pushed you and walked off, newsflash, cousin, they pressured you. Does pressure make diamonds? You damn right. It also busts pipes, though! Be pushed and pressed into something great, Cousin.

To my sis, my Jas, I thank you. Like I tell you, I am 10 toes down about you and the fam!

❤E❤

Leave a comment