Adulting, growth, life, Uncategorized

No, Please. Stop.

Cousin,

I’ve find myself struggling with compliments. Do you?

I had a guy recently tell me, “You are wearing the hell out of that dress”. Now, I probably should’ve been over the moon and while I appreciated the compliment, I did find myself a little uneasy. (He wasn’t a creeper or anything) Maybe deep down, I’m still not accustomed to my new body, (we’ll discuss that later) or I have a little bit of a self-esteem issue. I’m not sure. I’ll downplay myself all day, despite 1% of me, feeling like I’m pretty dope.

Let’s take vanity off the table. I work in healthcare admin and one of the key players in the company complemented me on my work and I politely and passively said thank you.

Sidebar: No matter how uncomfortable it may be to receive compliments, do NOT make people feel bad for compliementing you or worse, regretting they even did it.

He reiterated how much he enjoys reading my emails as they are so clear and concise. I’m glad to know the Business & Professional Communication class, I took in college has paid off, even if them student loans ain’t 😂😂.

Some other members of the team began to cosign and shout out my work ethic and how much of a joy it is to work with me. Listennnnn, if I was a narcissist, my life would’ve been made, but I’m a introved realist, that shit almost killed me 😬. My anxiety began to rise and my supervisor, bless her heart, she knows I don’t like too much attention and I hate having to socialize. She swooped in like a mother hen and got her little chickadee out of there.

What is wrong with me? Most people would love to receive praise at work. I am glad my hard work is being recognized, but if no one said anything, I would honestly not care. I don’t believe in congratulating fish for swimming 🤷🏽‍♀️. I know that’s harsh, but I’m just being honest.

So with all of that, I’ll say this, if you’re a Believer, we know that we were created in His image and likeness, you better believe people see our greatness more than we do. Jesus was merely fulfilling an assignment, meanwhile, we, see the grace, mercy and the selflessness of He and God. You don’t have to walk around as though you are that dude or that chick, your humility will speak VOLUMES! If you find yourself getting a lot of praise or compliments, it could be due to the fact that you operate in the right spirit- the spirit of humility. Now, if you walkin’ around like your shit don’t stink, you can’t reasonably expect someone to give you a compliment, especially somebody like me 🤨. Shiiiiiiiiit! I ain’t even got the time. One of my best friends told me, stop selling myself short. I am worthy! So are you, fam. So are you!

So with 2 months left in 2019, no more selling yourself short, Cousin. You can still be humble and receive your just due. You’re the shit! Know it. Believe it.

❤E❤

Leave a comment