Adulting, black men, black people, Black women, Friends, growth, life, mental health, relationship, spiritual, therapy

Get Some Couch Time

Black people! Question: Y’all still think or believe going to therapy is a “white people thing”?

I’m amazed, here we are in 2019 and we, black people, still running with that BS narrative. Oh, so you got Jesus and “what goes on in this house stays in this house”, so therapy isn’t for “us”.

When you cut yourself, you clean the cut, apply the necessary ointment, and you may even apply a bandage, depending on the severity of the infirmity. (That made me feel so smart,😜😂) We don’t allow anyone to deter us from treating a cut. Mental Health is NO different, cousin. Trauma is nothing more than an internal cut; the same steps: cleaning, applying and addressing the trauma take place in THERAPY! I guess one could argue, since you’re not bleeding out, the urgency isn’t there 🤔🤔🤔? Don’t fall victim to that mindset.

I gots my Jesus and I gots me a therapist. Judge ya mama! This past weekend was transformative. I unearthed some issues and dealt with some things that I know were hindering my growth. I know I will have more dark days, but after breaking down, I had one hell of a breakthrough. Couch time changes the game. Here’s the thing, people only know what you tell them. If you feel people in your circle can’t handle you getting the help you need, you got more work to do than you realize. Before you see a therapist, reevaluate your social circle-family included, cousin.

My relationship with my Heavenly Father will forever be my first line of defense. Admittedly, that hasn’t been the case recently, but that’s because I’ve allowed myself to believe that self-pity and self-loathing were my only options. I know I need to stand up in my shit and do my part, but that’s easier said than done. Telling someone you’re seeing a therapist, in the black community, in this present time, brings about a myriad of responses: “s/he crazy”, “you need to go to church”, “that’s for white folk”, “stop being dramatic (extra)” or one of my favorites, “you wasting your money. Can’t nobody tell me nothing about myself”. Cousin, how is that when we go drop hundreds of dollars on sneakers, bundles, labels, manicures, etc, yet, we’re not telling each other, “you’re wasting your money”, especially when all that eventually starts to shift, lift and lean to the left. Instead, we get to our Mental Health and want to choose the clearance options. We make provisions for vanity, but not our health?? 🤔

I’m not trying to beat up on anyone, quiet the opposite, actually, I want to free us, even if it’s just one of us. It takes money to invest in a business, right? Look at yourself as a business-INVE$T! Your mental health is paramount, cousin. Believe what I say. I know we all pride ourselves on being strong, but here’s the thing, seeing a therapist doesn’t make you weak. Moreover, in life, you may feel weak and that’s okay! What’s not okay? Not getting the help you know you want or need, for fear of how those around you will respond. Pardon my brash tongue, 🗣 Fuck them 🤷🏽‍♀️

If nothing else, know this: What you don’t deal with, will deal with you!

Mental Health isn’t taboo. Therapy isn’t taboo. Seeing a therapist doesn’t mean you’re crazy. If you’re sad and don’t know why, that’s okay. Let’s shed some tears, begin the process, stay committed to the process and break the strongholds. Everybody has some kind of emotional baggage or trauma; let’s stop running from our issues and figure out which bags we need to start unpacking to lighten our load.

This post is dedicated to one of my new favorite people, Dr. Jason, thee best therapist this side of the couch cushion.

♥E♥

Leave a comment